Author Topic: Looking to buy my first Bavaria advice please.  (Read 6012 times)

Sadlerfin

• Second Mate
Looking to buy my first Bavaria advice please.
« on: May 25 2015, 21:44 »
Hi all,

My first post here.

It looks as if I've just sold my 1980's 29ft yacht. I now need to decide on her replacement and the Bavaria 30 Cruiser is ticking all my boxes. We are a couple close to retirement looking for a small manageable but roomy boat for Solent work and some extended trips.

What tips or advice can you give me, any specials areas of a used Bav I should look at? I have no experience in sail drive or Volvo engines. What about sails some people have told me the original sails sold on these boats 10 years ago would now need replacing.

Thank you in advance for any advice you can offer.

Derek   

Nigel

• R.I.P.
  • Old Salt
    • Dolcetto - My Boat
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 47
  • Boat Year: 2000
Re: Looking to buy my first Bavaria advice please.
« Reply #1 on: May 26 2015, 07:17 »
Welcome to the forum Derek,

I can't offer much advice, other than to consider 32/34 variants as well, especially if you are tall.

I've just replaced my mainsail, 15 years old and possibly over due. Genoa is newer, but now looks tired.

Sail drives are excellent, but the gaiter around them should be replaced every 8-10 years. A DIY job, two people, one day.

It is alleged that some insurance companies require standing rigging to be replaced at 10 years. I just had mine checked by a rigger.

Boats are a hole in the water that you tip money into, I wouldn't have it any other way :)
Nigel Mercier: Forum Administrator

Symphony

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 33
  • Boat Year: 2015
« Reply #2 on: May 26 2015, 09:07 »