Author Topic: New owner - B39 - many questions!!  (Read 5418 times)

Captain Golla

• Swab
  • Boat Model: 39
  • Boat Year: 2005
New owner - B39 - many questions!!
« on: March 25 2015, 06:33 »
Hi everyone
I am in the process of buying a 2005 Bavaria 39 in Thailand. Have completed the survey, sea trial and haul out, and I am going ahead with the purchase. I have owned other boats before so I am quite handy, but I am a complete newby w.r.t. this one. I will be doing lots of remote coastal cruising in SE Asian and mostly Indonesian waters.
My first question regarding the ST4000 autopilot which is fitted to the wheel. During seatrial it could not keep the boat on course (under sail). Its a condition of sale that this be repaired/serviced. Thus my question: is this a reliable autopilot? Its been on the boat since 2005 so I assume it must have worked well previously? I am not planning on doing long passages, but definitely will be using the autopilot a lot, lots of 1-3 day sails ahead shorthanded. I am very keen to hear from owners who have this autopilot as I assume it must have come as a standard (or bottom of the range) equipment on many of the B39's?
Thanks a lot
Golla

JEN-et-ROSS

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 38 Lagoon
  • Boat Year: 1990
Re: New owner - B39 - many questions!!
« Reply #1 on: March 25 2015, 13:51 »
My brother has a Gibsea 372 with an ST4000 on the wheel. It gave good service until on day he was sailing under 'Genny' alone. Not realising that the unbalanced sail plan on a broadreach was putting such a load on the rudder he was taken by surprise when the Wheelpilot 'exploded/disintegrated' sending a shower of little wheels and plastic bits over the cockpit, never to work again. :(
It's since been replaced with another ST4000 and is again giving good service. :)
I guess the secret is not to overload it and it will be fine.