Author Topic: Possible leaky stanchions Bav 40 Ocean  (Read 5021 times)

markleuty

• Cadet
  • Boat Model: 40 Ocean
  • Boat Year: 2003
Possible leaky stanchions Bav 40 Ocean
« on: February 03 2017, 13:32 »
Hi

I have a leak on the port side of my 40 Ocean and have tried various things to fix it, but to no avail.

Next up I think I need to see if the Stanchions need to be re-bedded/sealed. But I am a bit of a newbie to this and am looking for hints/tips.

Hopefully the attached photo shows what it looks like. Is it just a case of undoing the side bolt and then the two screws at the base and then pulling it all apart or is there more to it than that?

Thanks

Mark

tiger79

• Old Salt
  • 2014 Cruiser 37
  • Boat Model: Cruiser 37
  • Boat Year: 2014
Re: Possible leaky stanchions Bav 40 Ocean
« Reply #1 on: February 03 2017, 14:29 »
I'm not certain, but I think you'll need to remove the wood trim, as there will be more fixings under it.

geoff

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: 40 ocean
  • Boat Year: 2001
« Reply #2 on: February 03 2017, 16:14 »
Mark my ocean 40 2001 has a rather different stanchion base fitting , but like you I suffered from leaks on the port side aft . In my case above the rear cabin wardrobe and sofa seat.  I found that it was very poor sealing of the hull/deck join just forward of mid ship coupled with the inadequate backing of the midship cleat . The wooden rails come off in sections and if you rake out the old sealant and squeeze in new it should fix your leak. Geoff 

markleuty

• Cadet
« Reply #3 on: February 03 2017, 17:44 »
Many thanks for your replies. I hadn't realised it was a solid casting like that.

Yes, I think we're going to have to take off all the teak as the symptoms are exactly as you describe.

thanks again..

Mark

geoff

• Old Salt
« Reply #4 on: February 03 2017, 19:51 »