Author Topic: Bavaria 33c 2015 wiring routes to cockpit  (Read 4566 times)

Ruby Tiger

• Swab
  • Boat Model: BAV33
  • Boat Year: 2015
Bavaria 33c 2015 wiring routes to cockpit
« on: April 06 2016, 14:51 »
I wish to put a plotter in the space near the clutches at the front of the cockpit. Can be either side. Will need a waterproof gland.
Is there a way to route the the wires , one 12v and one NMEA 2000 drop cable (max 4metres) from behind the Bavaria switch panel
without unscrewing and taking off the top panel which sits to the front of the cockpit (half in and half out). If this is indeed a good method. I am afraid to break the seal as it is a major water path on the top of the deck.
My alternative is to run some white trunking from the corner above the chart table round to the companion way and then thru a hole to get to the other side of the canopy.

Any suggestions welcome....as I am an electronics engineer, I feel comfortable with installing, I just cannot get any info on the wiring runs and suggested routes. 
Thanks for any help

Impavidus

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria C 37
Re: Bavaria 33c 2015 wiring routes to cockpit
« Reply #1 on: April 06 2016, 19:05 »
Ruby Tiger. Hi.

If you look at the Bavaria build video on you tube you will see that the cable routes in the roof/deck are all put in before the inner and outer are bonded. There are no ducts or conduit put in, the loom is simply laid on and covered up.  >:( >:( >:(

I had a similar issue on my 37c when trying to route a small 6 core cable for the LED mood lighting. I ended up having to feed the cable down behind the fridge, across under the floor round the chart table etc, etc. A 3 metre run ended up being 6 metres and taking 3 hours to do!! There probably is some spare space in the ceiling grid but its impossible to up there from behind the removable panels in the cupboards! Electricians nylon draw wires, flexi rods and even the old compressed air and cotton trick did not work.