Author Topic: Bavaria 30 C. Webasto heater (poss.3500 model)  (Read 5741 times)

Bavnav

• First Mate
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 30 Cruiser
  • Boat Year: 2006
Bavaria 30 C. Webasto heater (poss.3500 model)
« on: October 22 2014, 23:33 »
Although we have had our boat 1 year we have not previously used the Webasto heater.
The only switch panel I can find has a rotary type switch where one sets the temp. by simply turning the knob. A green light shows when switched on. There is also a switch with a diag. of a fan and a flame. I have tried switching it on and waiting, back off and trying several times, however, it does not appear to fire up. I have no knowledge of these heaters. Would somebody like to advise?
I cannot find any sort of timer - perhaps it is just a very basic heater.
Fair winds,
Bavnav.

Ripster

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: 36 Cruiser
  • Boat Year: 2011
Re: Bavaria 30 C. Webasto heater (poss.3500 model)
« Reply #1 on: October 23 2014, 00:26 »
Fairly sure we had this model on our last boat.  We have a later model on the current boat.  From memory on the previous one, I am fairly sure you need the switch to the flame symbol.  Then dial round to get the temp desired - for start up, put it on a high heat.  If the green light is coming on, then obviously you have power to the controller.  You should then immediately be able to feel a cold draft coming from the outlets - very gentle one.  This may go on for several minutes as the system primes up.  You can normally also hear the diesel pump clicking (slow steady click) on the heater unit.  After a while, it will sound like a jet engine is starting up and the fan speed will increase and you should start to feel warm air.  Its similar on the our present one, just a faster sequence and more options to regulate the heat.  No timer though. 

Stuart

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: Bavaria Cruiser 42
  • Boat Year: 2005
« Reply #2 on: October 23 2014, 05:27 »