Author Topic: Autopilot for Bavaria 34  (Read 8505 times)

gtang

• Swab
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 34
  • Boat Year: 2007
Autopilot for Bavaria 34
« on: February 04 2013, 17:47 »
Hi, I am new to Bavaria yacht and this forum.
Got my 2007 Bavaria 34 a short while ago and considering fitting an Autopilot. I am targeting at the Raymarine SPX5 wheel autopilot basically for its budget price as well as my intended type of sailing will not be extreme.
Would appreciate any suggestion on its suitability and how it could be installed.

Symphony

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 33
  • Boat Year: 2015
Re: Autopilot for Bavaria 34
« Reply #1 on: February 04 2013, 22:51 »
Works OK but drive units can be a problem. I have had 2 fail when the gears break - replaced under warranty and then the replacement partially failed so needed to go back to Raymarine along with a re-programming of the computer. Works fine now. Having said that many people get good service from them and your boat is well within its capabilities. Biggest attraction is that it is less than half the price of the alternatives and relatively easy to install. No major surgery required but quite a bit of fiddly routing of cables. The positioning of the drive motor in the binnacle is critical using the Raymarine bulkhead kit. It needs to be in the rough 20 minutes to the hour position to be away from the compass and miss cables, but the binnacles vary in detail and you will have to adjust position to fit yours. The drive wheel must be clamped on square and concentric otherwise it drags, but not too difficult. I put the course computer on the fore and aft bulkhead in the aft cabin close to the access panel to the binnacle and the compass in the clothes locker in the same cabin.

gtang

• Swab
« Reply #2 on: February 05 2013, 12:20 »
Hi Symphony,

Thanks for the info.