Author Topic: Retro fitting Windllass Bav 37 Cruiser complete novice needs help  (Read 6190 times)

Roissy

• Swab
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 37
  • Boat Year: 2005
Apologies again for asking but I really need some help and advice from you guys.

Most will know that Bavaria in their wisdom cut the support shelf down to 10cms if windlass not ordered when new, nor did they seal or glass the front edge of the shelf leaving the ply exposed to rot away.

Options are a steel plate or re-glassed shelf. Anyone with experience of this and contacts for work would be greatly appreciated. Any pictures would also be a great help.

Boat is in Port Solent.

Choice of windlass appears to be Horizontal only given the available space.

Quick Genious SP 2000 800w and Lewmar Pro Series 1000 700w seem to be the popular options which will fit easily under the locker lid although it looks as though the angle of chain will be nowhere near the recommended 90 degrees or less to prevent slipping.

Ideas and suggestions greatly received

Lofrans Cayman has lots of support on the forum but is 230mm high and will not fit under the locker lid. Has anyone fitted this model and overcome the problem?

Thanks again for any help or suggestions

Regards

David

Symphony

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 33
  • Boat Year: 2015
Can't help with recommendations for bonding in a new shelf, although it is not difficult for an experienced shipwright. The Cayman is a far superior windlass to the others, provided you take steps to mount it so that the bottom does not corrode, and remove all the fastenings then coat with Duralec before replacing.

As you say the Cayman is too deep to fit with the shelf at the standard level, but it may be possible to fit a shelf lower down - the constraint being whether there is enough drop for the chain.