Author Topic: New sails for B38/2003: genoa size / furling main with or without battens?  (Read 5889 times)

pjl

• Swab
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 38
  • Boat Year: 2003
I'm thinking of replacing the original sails on my Bavaria 38 2003 and thought of the possiblity of going for a smaller headsail. Has anyone replaced the headsail to a size around 100% and if so, how have you arranged for the sheeting? My motivation is the local conditions here in the Finnish archipelago, where we are bound to tack and sail upwind a lot.

I am new to sailing and have only a few months of experience and this something thing I've been pondering during the autumn. Would it be feasible / doable / with any reasonable benefits compared to the current setup with the genoa? Or would it be sufficient to just replace the old headsail with a new one?

The original furling main has battens but the local sailmaker suggested that I could think about the main without the battens. I got the impression that without the battens the main would be a bit smaller but stay in shape better and last longer. Any pro's / con's on this one?

Symphony

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 33
  • Boat Year: 2015
Your rig relies on the genoa for power, so a reduction to the size you are talking about will leave you substantially underpowered. Consider having your new sail made with a padded luff as that makes reducing sail area and keeping a good shape much easier. Discuss with your sailmaker. There are conflicting opinions about battens in furling mainsails for the reasons your sailmaker suggests. Battened sails can be more difficult to furl and wear on the battens can be a problem. However they can lead to a better shape and slightly more area.