Author Topic: Occasional renting: has anyone ever had experience with YupSail?  (Read 4520 times)

The Old Man and the Sea

• Swab
  • Boat Model: Elan marine d.o.o.
  • Boat Year: 2013
Hello Guys!

I've a Bavaria 44, and I'd like to rent it!
I found a website, and it's looks cheap and interesting for my needs!
https://www.yupsail.com/en/sailboat-rental.html

...But I'm not very familiar whit online rent! has anyone ever had experience with YupSail?
Can you help me?
Thanks a lot

Salty

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
  • Boat Year: 2002
In regard to YupSail, I have no experience with that particular firm, but a couple of things I'd be very very wary about.
1. While most other parts of their website is written in English, their terms and conditions are not. Instead they are written in Italian which if you don't understand, it puts you at an immediate disadvantage because you don't know what you are letting yourself in for. In a worst scenario, this is your boat, your investment, and your pride and joy. Responsible charterers will look after your boat, others may do so, and an irresponsibly large proportion of them won't give a dam about your boat.
2. What you need to know is how the charter firm will look after your investment, and how exactly you will be reimbursed for any damage done.
3. You need to know who will be responsible for ensuring that periodic surveys are carried out on time, who will pay for those surveys, how you will be notified when a survey becomes due, when and by who the survey will be carried out, and a cast iron guarantee that your boat will not go out if any survey is either not carried out or is not passed satisfactorily.