Author Topic: Leaks 38 Ocean  (Read 179 times)

Andrew Ward

• Swab
  • Boat Model: 38 Ocean
  • Boat Year: 1998
Leaks 38 Ocean
« on: June 24 2024, 15:08 »
Hi All,

This is my first time messaging I hope you may be able to help. I have had Marynia a 1998 38 Ocean since 2016 and have replaced the engine / saildrive, all rigging, sails and electronics, my last job was to replace the electrics including all the interior and exterior lights and have a new control panel installed, but work has been halted due to fresh water ingress on the starboard side from the front cabin and along to the chart station. I have just resealed all the windows, (thanks for the previous posts around that job) and the very small amount of water ingress in these areas has now been sorted, but the problem continues and in heavy weather  and seas is pretty bad.

I think the problem may be at the base of the stanchions and the bow and midships mooring cleats but I do not know how to sort that? I have taken one stanchion out to inspect but the base area that may well need sealing is concealed in the teak strip over the hull to deck seal. Will I need to somehow remove all the substantial teak strip? And how do you reach the base of each stanchion and cleat as most appear to be behind the interior fit out and inaccessible? Does anyone know what tool I would need to remove or tighten the mooring cleats? (they have a hexagon head with a minimal gap around them).

The contractor has informed me that water has been running at the back of the control panel and substantial damage has been sustained. Water now collects at the base of the batteries and in the bilge under the companionway steps and runs into the bilge to the front of the saloon table.

If anyone can help I would be very gratful as it is proving challenging and I have to get it sorted fast.

Thanks,

Andrew Ward
Marynia (Chichester Harbour)

symphony2

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: B33
  • Boat Year: 2015
Re: Leaks 38 Ocean