Author Topic: Selden Rodkicker to change the gas or not to change.. that's the question..  (Read 2508 times)

Kala

• Second Mate
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
  • Boat Year: 2002
Hi all

I've been sailing with my bav 36 2002 for about 3 years without to change the gas of the Selden Rodckicker rigid boom vang.. I've always thought that the topping lift was enough and I would like to know if you do think that it's something important to change that gas piston and which advantages I'll get thinking that my topping lift and the rigid boom vang (without gas) seems enough... Thanks!!

IslandAlchemy

• Old Salt
I haven't bothered. I just use the topping lift, which works fine.

Kala

• Second Mate
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
  • Boat Year: 2002
Thanks IslandAlchemy!

I agree but I was recently sailing with another boat and it was very easy and fast to depower the mainsail letting the kicker loose, the boom went up when arriving at the anchorage spot and it seemed me interesting.. I am unsure (I was at the bow and didn't ask later) if they just released the kicker or they just use the topping lift.. Anyway, the problem for doing this quickly with a rigid boom vang is that before to use the topping lift you have to release mainsheet (that should be loose in a slow approach) but also the vang.. Not sure, just looking for a way to make it faster...

IslandAlchemy

• Old Salt
Easing the vang will still de-power the sail whether you have a gas strut or not, so long as there's pressure in the sail, and if there isn't pressure, then you don't need to de-power.

geoff

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: 40 ocean
  • Boat Year: 2001
Having had some car boot gas struts fail years ago I decided against the selden system when I ordered my boat [2001] Instead I have a spring strut from a French maker [cant remember who]  Its like the Selden , but the gas strut is a big stainless spring. Has worked a treat now for 20 years ,nowt to go wrong. Geoff

Rampage

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 38