Author Topic: Bleeding problem md2020  (Read 5834 times)

Bav32

• First Mate
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 32 Cruiser
  • Boat Year: 2004
Bleeding problem md2020
« on: September 13 2018, 18:48 »
Hello everyone,

I have an issue with my fuel-system. I changed the pre-filter and the engine fuel filter.
When trying to bleed the system, I dont get any fuel even to the pre-filter. I have been pumping my thumb sore with the engine manual pump. The only thing I hav'nt checked is the cutoff valve. I have never turned it over before this and this is my first time to change the pre-filter on the boat.

There was a really small amount of brown-ish stuff in the bottom of the pre-filters water separator. I don't think that this would clogg the fuel-lines.

Am I really on the wrong track when i suspect the cutoff valve? Can the valve really break when you turn it?

Ronald

• First Mate
  • Boat Model: Vision 42
  • Boat Year: 2018
Re: Bleeding problem md2020
« Reply #1 on: September 13 2018, 20:14 »
Could be very well your cut of Valve.

Had the same last year and found  the valve clocked with dirt, cleaned it out and problem solved

Good luck Ronald.

Salty

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
  • Boat Year: 2002
« Reply #2 on: September 13 2018, 20:16 »
Am I really on the wrong track when i suspect the cutoff valve? Can the valve really break when you turn it?

If yours is the same shut off valve as that supplied on many of the boats from the early 2000s, then it’s unlikely that it will actually shut off completely. Some of us have run our engines for hours and hours with the so called shut off valve in the shut position. As for breaking, I doubt that would happen. On my boat the only difference it made having the valve in the shut position was to restrict the engine rpm to something around 2000.