Author Topic: White smoke from exhaust  (Read 11200 times)

Ricd

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: 34
  • Boat Year: 2000
Re: White smoke from exhaust
« Reply #25 on: July 13 2018, 17:09 »
Thanks for the information . You are right where I would never try to do it as my boat would never be the same again. I will try to find a mechanic who has the knowledge. Thanks again

To be fair I had an marine engineer mate with me when my injectors were pulled.  But having seen it done/assisted, it really is a simple task (c. 30mins) to draw them and I would feel happy to do it myself if ever needed again, and i am no engineer.  However, if you do have them pulled do not buy new nozzles from VP.  I used City Auto in Plymouth who are a bosch centre.  They were able to test the injector pattern and confirm mine was rubbish (I expected this as there was a lot of carbon around the nozzles.  The ordered the new nozzles for next day, reconditioned the old injectors (blasted them back to bare metal) then fitted the new nozzles and provided them back with new copper washers...all for £150.   Google injector nozzles for MD2020, should find sources at around £40/each.

Salty

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
  • Boat Year: 2002
« Reply #26 on: July 14 2018, 21:13 »