Author Topic: Setting up a cruising chute on a b32 (2002)  (Read 5433 times)

stone687

• Cadet
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 32
  • Boat Year: 2002
Setting up a cruising chute on a b32 (2002)
« on: January 06 2018, 18:39 »
I have a cruising chute with a sock on my B32 - but never deployed because I cannot see where to attach the foot or the tack.  I assume the top of the sail attaches to spinnaker halyard.
Since I am new to sailing and the depth of my knowledge is very shallow please could any answers be as free from jargon as possible.  Many thanks. David

Salty

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
Re: Setting up a cruising chute on a b32 (2002)
« Reply #1 on: January 06 2018, 22:49 »
There are several postings regarding flying your chute/spinnaker while using something that is called an "ATN Tacker." If you go to the "Home" page and type ATN into the search box it will lead you to those postings. Also if you type ATN tacker into your browser search engine it will take you to a site where there is a short video showing you what a tacker looks like and how it is used. I have one, and have used it while sailing single handed. The video shows how it is connected up and how remarkably easy it is to use. It also shows how to use a sock with your chute/spinnaker.

dawntreader

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria37
  • Boat Year: 2006
« Reply #2 on: January 07 2018, 10:40 »
I would just like to add that you should not try to attach the foot of the sail to the anchor roller unless you are sure that the anchor roller is firmly attached to the lower hull else you may just lift the front part of your deck  ::)

note: the above advice is no admission on my part that I actually did this once  ::) >:D

Symphony

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 33
  • Boat Year: 2015
« Reply #3 on: January 07 2018, 11:43 »