Author Topic: Wax and rubbing compound  (Read 3115 times)

Noelio Abrunhosa

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 38 cruiser
  • Boat Year: 2005
Wax and rubbing compound
« on: January 07 2017, 07:21 »
Hi. We are in the process of buying a ex charter Bavaria 38 Cruiser (Survey on Tuesday) and i want to take advantage of the boat being out of water to polish the hull and give a coat of anti fouling. what waxes and rubbing compound and polishing wax everyone recommends? also what anti foul and where can i buy it near Southampton? as i am new to sailing i am sure i will asking lots for lots of advice.also if there are any skippers interested in moving the boat from Southampton to Brighton marina for me in the next 2 weeks it will be greatly appreciated.

kind regards

Noelio (Abby)

tiger79

• Old Salt
  • 2014 Cruiser 37
  • Boat Model: Cruiser 37
  • Boat Year: 2014
Re: Wax and rubbing compound
« Reply #1 on: January 07 2017, 08:01 »
I've had great results with Meguiars #45 Polish, followed by Meguiars #56 Wax - these are both very easy to apply by hand and polish off by hand.  I do 2 applications of polish, followed by 2 applications of wax, and it lasts 2 years.  If you need to compound, start with the mildest stuff you can find.

Odysseus

• Old Salt
  • Bill and Linda
    • www.scanmar-odysseus.co.uk
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 38
  • Boat Year: 2006
« Reply #2 on: January 07 2017, 10:04 »
Hi there, I think I know the boat, in Moodys yard, was on board it 2 weeks ago.

My boat was simlar when I purchased it left in the sun not used.

My recommendations are as follows.

You need the boat ashore.

You need a professional polisher

Use oxalic acid to clean the hull off, diluted.

Use Farecla compound, I use G3

Use a "nano" polish, its fills in the microscopic holes so crap does not stick, Google it.

Then use you favorite wax polish.

I live up the road from Moodys if you want more detailed information on that model of boat and modifications.

Send me an email.