Author Topic: Below deck autopilot arm dimensions  (Read 1990 times)

Goboatingnow

• Second Mate
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
  • Boat Year: 2003
Below deck autopilot arm dimensions
« on: October 15 2020, 08:39 »
Hi , a newbie here , well newbie to Bavarias . I am  fitting a linear drive autopilot to replace the stupid wheel pilot on a 2003 Bavaria 36

As I am not near my boat currently , any one know what arm length is usually fitted , or what what Raymarine version is commonly used . I am fitting mine from the quadrant to the bulkhead on the Port side , i have seen this config several times on charter Bavaria36

I will be using a Jefa arm but I can work back from the Ray specs

Thanks

Lyra

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: B36
  • Boat Year: 2004
Re: Below deck autopilot arm dimensions
« Reply #1 on: October 16 2020, 20:53 »
Assuming a Type 1 linear drive then according to the installation manual  the arm radius should be 250mm (center of rudder post to link point at end of arm)
Below is a link to my record of this installation. There is a photo in it of the arm that I fabricated according to drawings that can be found on the Jefa site.
http://www.sylyra.com/linear_drive_installation_e.php
S/Y Lyra
B36 / 2004

Goboatingnow

• Second Mate
« Reply #2 on: October 17 2020, 17:17 »
Thank you very much

Would you know what throw is needed from the linear drive , I’m attaching to the quadrant

Could you also point to the instructions for changing the st4000 to st5000 mode

Lyra

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: B36
  • Boat Year: 2004
« Reply #3 on: October 19 2020, 07:51 »
I am not sure I understood - are you attaching to the quadrant or adding a small tiller? in both cases the Raymarine Type 1 requires a radius of 250mm. The throw  for the type1 is 300mm end to end.
By the way, there was a point where I though of attaching to the quadrant, but I discarded this idea - can't remember now if it was due to tight space for installation, problematic angles, or another reason.