Author Topic: Autopilot drive replacement Lewmar to Jefa  (Read 2362 times)

SYJetzt

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Cruiser 46
  • Boat Year: 2005
Autopilot drive replacement Lewmar to Jefa
« on: February 25 2020, 16:51 »
I´m currently outfitting my boat for long distance hauls.
As I'm sailing shorthanded, I'm thinking about my spares for the autopilot system (drive).
Actually i have a Lewmar Mamba (12V 1/4HP) which works fine (at the moment!), but i have read all the issues in other threads about clutch problems.
A complete drive set (motor, gear, clutch) from Lewmar is about 3100.-€.
Jefa offers a complete drive unit (including a flange-adapter) for about 2000.-€, where the clutch seems to be of another construction type (bolts instead of friction plate).
I'm aware of the issues with the jefa rudder feedback sensor, but my current drive has an extra rudder sensor, so i don't need the jefa sensor.
Are there any known issues with the jefa drive (exept the rudder sensors?), i think all newer bavarias from 2015 on should have one!

SofiaB

• First Mate
  • Boat Model: Bavaria Vision 46
  • Boat Year: 2016
Re: Autopilot drive replacement Lewmar to Jefa
« Reply #1 on: February 26 2020, 03:46 »