Author Topic: Question about Fridge unit current drain.  (Read 4066 times)

ICENI

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 32
  • Boat Year: 2002
Question about Fridge unit current drain.
« on: September 01 2019, 12:45 »
On my last boat which was based in the Mediterranean I had four solar panels to assist with the current drain from the refrigerator which was usually running 24/7

My present boat (just purchased) is a 2002 Bavaria 32.   She has been standing unused, shored up in a boatyard since 2016 so the service batteries are now useless as they were dry when I first visited the boat prior to purchase!

I have been running the fridge (Standard compressor type) from a battery charger connected to the service batteries whilst living on board working on the boat.

With useless service batteries, I have no knowledge of the demands and performance of the two 140AH batteries if in new condition..

Can anyone give me any information regarding fridge performance please with service batteries of similar capacity?

My Bavaria is in the UK so that the demands will not be so great as on my previous boat but I really would like to know if going down the solar route is necessary.   I have spent and am continuing to spend lots of cash as the boat is fairly basic and if I can avoid the expense of a stainless steel gantry, the panels and a controller it would be good.

Symphony

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 33
  • Boat Year: 2015
Re: Question about Fridge unit current drain.
« Reply #1 on: September 01 2019, 14:04 »