Author Topic: Raytheon RC320 Chart plotter non function  (Read 2229 times)

ICENI

• Able Seaman
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 32
  • Boat Year: 2002
Raytheon RC320 Chart plotter non function
« on: July 25 2019, 12:32 »
Please can anyone assist me?

I have just purchased a secondhand Bavaria sailboat fitted with a Raytheon RC320 chartplotter.

On attempts to power up the unit comes on when a finger is on the power button but immediately one's finger is removed, it shuts down.

As a retired electronic technician, I feel it is likely that the unit has an internal battery.   The boat has been unused for a couple of years so I feel this might be the problem.

Has anyone any input on this please?

Salty

• Old Salt
  • Boat Model: Bavaria 36
Re: Raytheon RC320 Chart plotter non function
« Reply #1 on: July 25 2019, 22:50 »
With the name “Raytheon” on it which was the name prior to them being renamed Raymarine and which was then taken over by the firms present American owners “Flir,” the one thing that is against you is the age of the instrument. It is going to be something in the order of twenty years old or more. The chances of being able to get it repaired for sensible money are likely to be few and far between such that in my opinion, and with you being an ex electronics technician, that you might as well open it up and see if you can fix it yourself.